Past News & Events

Friday, November 17, 2017

Naomi Choi (Political Science, University of Houston)
Title TBA

Commentator: tba

2:00-3:45 Gibson 296

Friday, October 27, 2017

Matthew Adams (Philosophy, UVA)
An Ideological Critique of Nonideal Methodology

Commentator: tba

2:00-3:45 Gibson 296

Friday, October 6, 2017

Matthias Brinkmann (DeOlazzara Fellow, PPL)
The Strong Demands of Political Competence

Commentator: tba

 

2:00-3:45 Gibson 296

Friday, September 22, 2017

George Klosko (Politics, UVA
The Structure of Democratic Authority

Commentator: Colin Bird

2:00–3:45 Gibson 296

Friday, April 28, 2017

Professor David Livingston Smith, University of New England
Topic tba

Coffee and cookies will be available.

2:00 – 3:45 Gibson 296

Friday, March 24, 2017

Professor Leonard Feldman, CUNY
Realist Political Theory and the Police Power

Coffee and cookies will be available.

2:00 – 3:45 Gibson 296

Friday, February 24, 2017

Professor Alex Guerrero, Rutgers University
Should We Choose Our Political Representatives by Election or Lottery?  The Argument from Relative Sanity

Commentator: Ahmed Teleb, UVA Politics
Coffee and cookies will be available.

2:00 – 3:45 Gibson 296

Friday, February 10, 2017

Professor Thomas Christiano, University of Arizona
A Democratic Conception of Fair Exchange in Markets

Commentator: George Klosko, UVA Politics
Coffee and cookies will be available.

2:00 – 3:45 Gibson 296

Friday, April 29, 2011

Nancy Hirschmann (University of Penssylvania)
Topic TBA

(co-sponsored with the Political Theory Colloquium)

12-1:30pm Gibson Hall (South Lawn) S441

Friday, April 8, 2011

Ian Carter (University of Pavia)
Are there any Value-Free Political Concepts?

Discussant: Chris Lebron, UVA Politics

12-1:30pm Gibson Hall (South Lawn) S441

Pages